Monday, December 6, 2021
HomeTV47NewThe judges who will decide whether or not to dissolve Parliament

The judges who will decide whether or not to dissolve Parliament

Deputy Chief Justice (DCJ) Philomena Mwilu has appointed five judges who will hear cases related to CJ David Maraga’s advisory to the President to dissolve Parliament.

The five-judge bench consists of Pauline Nyamweya, George Odunga, James Makau, Anthony Ndung’u, and  Lydia Achode. Achode will be the presiding judge.

CJ Maraga recused himself from appointing the judges as he is a respondent in the said petitions.

Three weeks ago, Maraga advised President Uhuru Kenyatta to dissolve Parliament over its inability to pass the two-thirds gender rule. He said Parliament had failed to comply with High Court order in the Constitutional Petition No. 371 of 2016.

For nine years, Parliament has not enacted the legislation required to implement the two-thirds gender rule. Maraga says this is “a clear testimony of parliament’s lackadaisical attitude and conduct in this matter”.


TV47 is on Gotv, DStv, SIGNET, BAMBA and STARTIMES.

Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Top Stories

- Advertisement -spot_img