Sunday, December 5, 2021
HomeTop StoriesEACC summons 18 Baringo MCAs, assembly staff, over chaotic BBI debate

EACC summons 18 Baringo MCAs, assembly staff, over chaotic BBI debate

The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission (EACC) is investigating 18 Baringo MCAs and staffers over the chaos witnessed during the BBI Bill debate.

In a letter written to the county assembly leadership, the EACC has summoned the 18 people to avail themselves before EACC South Rift regional office in Nakuru, for interviews and statement recording.

The anti-graft agency also wants the county clerk to provide original or certified copies of personal files of two Members of County Assembly (MCAs); Charles Kosgei and Ernest Kibet.

EACC also wants the clerk to provide the Hansard for 11th February 2021 and a report on the steps that the assembly has taken so far in respect to the chaotic proceedings.

The 18 people EACC is investigating their conduct include; Speaker David Kiplagat, Deputy Speaker Jacob Cheboiwo, Principal Sergeant at Arms David Ng’eno, Sergeant at Arms Amos Kiprop Cherangony and Tobole Sumokwo Logorio, and Clerk Richard Koech.

The MCAs under EACC’s radar are Silas Tochim, Maria Losile, Solomon Makal, Caroline Kessei, Betty Birchogo, Shadrack Malluk, Lawi Kipchumba, Lourien Sam, Daniel Tuwit, Reuben Chepsongol, Charles Kosgei, and Ernerst Kibet.

On the fateful day, The Baringo County Assembly voted to shoot down the BBI Constitution of Kenya (Amendment) Bill, 2020.

So far, eleven county assemblies have passed the bill- Siaya, Homa Bay, Kisumu, Busia, West Pokot, Trans Nzoia, Kajiado, Kisii, Vihiga, Nairobi and Laikipia. Only Baringo has rejected.


TV47 is on Gotv, DStv, SIGNET, BAMBA and STARTIMES.

Sign up to receive our monthly newsletter.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Top Stories

- Advertisement -spot_img