Friday, September 24, 2021
HomeTop StoriesKiambaa decides: Polling stations closed, vote tallying begins

Kiambaa decides: Polling stations closed, vote tallying begins

Polling stations in Kiambaa Constituency have been closed after voters turned out in large numbers to vote for their member of parliament on Thursday, July 15.

Voting kicked off at 6 am when the centres were open and closed at around 5 pm. Tallying of votes is now underway in the respective polling stations in the constituency.

Results from the 154 polling stations will then be relayed to Karuri High School, which is the constituency’s main tallying centre.

The Kimbaa mini-poll is a two-horse race pitting Jubilee’s Kariri Njama and UDA’s Njuguna Wanjiku. Both candidates have expressed their satisfaction in the electoral process so far, both exuding confidence that they will carry the day.

Chebukati dismisses Moses Kuria’s claims

Earlier on, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) dismissed Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria’s allegations that a vehicle belonging to the electoral agency was spotted conducting voting at a certain plantation.

“The car in question is an IEBC vehicle being used by Commission staff who are providing technical support to the polling process. The post by Moses Kuria is, therefore, a false allegation,” said IEBC in a statement.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Top Stories